Weeping Water Nebraska




DECEMBER 12, 2016

            Mayor Michael Barrett called the monthly meeting of the Weeping Water City Council to order at 6:00 p.m., on December 12, 2016 at City Hall with the following members of the council answering roll: Ray Frew, Kelly Nutter and Timron Gilfert. Absent: Lawrence Mozena. Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by publication in the December 8, 2016 edition of the Plattsmouth Journal. The posted location of the Open Meeting Act was noted by the Mayor. Motion by Gilfert, seconded by Nutter to approve the minutes of the November 14, 2016 meeting. Motion passed with Frew, Nutter and Gilfert voting aye. Nays: None. Absent: Mozena.

            Mozena entered the meeting at 6:03 p.m.

            Monthly Reports: Fire Department-2 calls during the month. Chief Ervin noted that they still have free smoke detectors to give away and that PCS Phosphate donated a generator to the department. Discussion was also held regarding a bench being placed in front of City Hall in memory of the Speer family. Motion by Nutter, seconded by Gilfert to accept the application of Zach Purcell to the department. Motion carried with all member of the council voting aye. The Rescue Report was provided by Chief Lawrence stating the new step and cot are being installed in Unit 211. Copies of the Maintenance Report were distributed for Council review and Bruce Sorensen presented the Monthly Water/Wastewater Report. The new water well is 99.9% complete and the VFD’s have been ordered. Health Board-Updates were provided on pending issues and a new concern was addressed.

            Gilfert left the meeting at 6:46 p.m.

            Old Business-The property damage at the ballfield was rectified by the party involved.

            Discussion was held regarding the One and Six Year Street Improvement Plan, which consists of general maintenance and some areas of milling and asphalt overlay, it was agreed to pursue preparation of said proposed plan for the ensuring year and to schedule a public hearing at 5:45 p.m., on January 9, 2017 to consider the same.    

            Waiving the Weeping Water Housing PILOT payment was tabled for further review.

            Members of the Council were advised that the City received an allocation of $10,000 from the Day Trust for campground improvements.

            It was noted that the City received a letter from Zito Media advising of a rate increase for the community effective January 2017.

            As part of the annual reorganization meeting, the Mayor acknowledged the re-election of Raymond Frew and Lawrence Mozena for four year terms to the City Council. The Oath of Office was administered to both council members and Certificates of Election was presented. The following appointments and standing committees for the ensuing year, were approved by Mozena, Frew and Nutter. Absent: Gilfert. Maintenance Supt.-Kurt Powles, City Clerk/Treasurer-Linda Fleming, City Attorney-The Firm of Svoboda & Chebatoris, City Engineer-Olsson Associates, City Street Superintendent-Dennis Graham, Water/Wasterwater Maintenance-Contracted with PeopleService, Mayor-Michael Barrett, , City Council-Raymond, Frew, Lawrence Mozena, Kelly Jo Nutter and Timron Gilfert. Council President-Raymond Frew; Water/Wastewater Committee-Kelly Jo Nutter and Lawrence Mozena; Streets/Alleys Committee-Raymond Frew and Timron Gilfert; Finance Committee-Mayor, Clerk and City Council members. A review of the list of City Boards and Committees was made, in which it was noted that the following have agreed to term re-appointments: Planning Board-William Cover and Randall Beins; Housing Authority Board-Pam McCaulley; Library Board-April Cover. Board and Committee replacements for vacancies created by term expirations or resignation include: Planning Board-Mike Kindle replacing Leona Andes and Board of Adjustment-Kurt Powles and Mike Kindle replacing Lenny Hermann and Leona Andes. Also, Kelly Nutter was added to the Board of Adjustment as an alternate. Ray Frew agreed to be on the Community Building Board.

            Motion by Mozena, seconded by Frew to approve the following claims: Salaries-9,883.30; Ne Dept of Rev, sls tx, whlg, ldg tx-1,496.51; Ameritas, emp ret-542.06; Utilities: Black Hills Energy-170.01; Windstream-564.78; Verizon-139.76; OPPD-4,404.62; EFTPS, whlg-2.713.08; United Healthcare, ins-3,476.58; Svoboda & Chebatoris, prof-506.47; PeopleService, prof-13,148; Cass County Refuse, reimb-10,051.55; Post Office, pstg-196; PSN, prof-168.55; Cede & Co, DT imp bond int-786.25; F & M Bank, wr fee, prin pmt-1,015; NDEQ, int pmt-1,590.19; LARM, addtl ins-124.90; Meeske Hardware, sup-655.96; General Fire, fire insp-170; SE Area Clerk Assoc, dues-10; Columbus Telegram, publ-46.46; Linda Fleming, reimb-14; Wirebuilt, prof-150; Chamber of Commerce, mtg-6; Don Roche, reimb-192.54; Express Lane, fuel-91.89; Kubota, rep-262.52; Nielsen Fertilizer, maint-15; Keckler Oil, rep-709.98; Meeske Auto, maint-184.72; Husker Chem Sales, sup-115; EMS Billing, reimb-216.97; Boundtree, sup-259.44; Matheson Tri Gas, sup-54; NE City Fire Rescue, trng-340; Olsson Assoc, prof-8,940.77; Stop N Shop, fuel-339.24; One Call, locate fees-7.17; HD Supply, equip-234.71; Cass County Election Commission, elec fees-110.71; Danko, equip-3,465.74. Motion carried with Mozena, Frew and Nutter voting aye. Nays: None. Absent: Gilfert.

            The meeting was adjourned at 7:27 p.m.

/s/Michael Barrett, Mayor

/s/Linda Fleming, City Clerk